My First “NO FIRST OF SEPTEMBER” or Alice in OLDERland


The end of August. Still hot, but already some kind of autumnish air can be felt in the morning. People still enjoy their time with various summer activities. I also enjoy my summer days, and everything seems to go well until… until I VERY UNEXPECTEDLY find out that my junior friends are getting ready for the 1st of September!

Feeling that the 1st of September solely reminds me of the coming salary and the office staff meeting , I fell into my deepest depression.

No 1st of September this time? No new dresses for classes? No ice-creams at noisy Opera terraces after the first tiring lecture? No conversations about summer love stories? No crazy photocessions in front of the Uni building? No discussions about the first-year students and their clothes? No silly compositions on how I’d spent my summer vacations? No horror of falling in the group of the most fearful lecturers of the University? No disappointment with the first homework? No facebook photo albums entitled “And Again Classes”, “September 1, 2010, 2011, 2012…”, “September 1 and my classmates” or “Celebrating September 1” and the like?

NO! Something is wrong! Something must be out of order. The things have taken a wrong direction. What if the whole problem is in time? Maybe it has fastened its course without warning me? Or else, this time the hurrying September has jumped its turn in the queue of months?

But what if everything is in order, what if the whole problem lies in me? What if nothing and no one are to blame? What if, it’s my turn to become older? But…mmmm….or else….maybe…..perhaps ….

After several hours of self-torturing with all possible variants I had to look in the eyes of reality. Everything is in time’s hands, and, what is worse, there’s nothing wrong in it. Time just goes on, like it always have, like it does and will. And the 1st of September will always come and go, each time welcoming and seeing off new people, but no me((

As for me, I just have to take some of the all-mighty time to walk through all these changes. I need some time to congratulate others on the 1st of September with no envy. Just some time, to concede my place to others in the Opera terraces on the 1st of September. Time, to get out of the habit of buying a new shirt on the 31st of August. Time, to get used to light bags when leaving the house in the morning. And Time, to have a clear conscious when going to bed having done no home tasks.

P.S. Dear friends!!! Have a nice 1st of September😉

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “My First “NO FIRST OF SEPTEMBER” or Alice in OLDERland

  1. Tatev

    Alice,a great post! I’m touched with it feeling all the same concerning our uni and our crazy days:)but never mind,it’s like a new life has begun.. and surely it’ll be full of the greatest moments that you’r gonna miss afterwards … :)love u..and our friends ))))

  2. Lucy

    so much depression because of sept. 1?? come on Al,,,, enjoy your life!!!

  3. Tigo

    Lovely story, Great words, BRAVO Alice!
    I have attended my school and my university for so many september 1, but I haven’t revealed the main meaning or may I say the main sense of 1st of september.
    Thanks, you did it!!

  4. Thaaanks a lot Tig for such a nice comment:)))

  5. Arman

    Good for you…

Leave a Reply

